Ghanaian News

Alan formally announces decision to run for NPP flagbearership

Alan Kyerematen has officially announced his decision to run for the flagbearership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Addressing the nation on Tuesday (10 January 2023), Kyerematen said, “I wish to use this platform to formally announce my decision to contest the flagbearership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) when the party officially opens nominations for that purpose.”

He said President Akufo-Addo has laid a strong foundation for the country’s socio-economic development, “although I believe there are things that could have been done differently”.

“My vision is to build a superstructure on this foundation to bring prosperity to our nation.”

Kyerematen promised to roll out an ambitious programme to achieve this vision as soon as he becomes president.

The NPP flagbearership hopeful said he will launch and lead the execution of a Great Transformational Plan (GTP) if voted.

Kyerematen said the plan will be anchored on ten main pillars, including a strong macroeconomic environment, industrial transformation, digital mainstreaming, national security, defence optimisation and downsizing government.

“To achieve this strategic goal of transforming our dear country to become the shining star of the new Africa, I will, as president, launch and lead the execution of the Great Transformational Plan – GTP – of Ghana, which will span the period 2025 to 2030.

“The execution of the GTP will require our collective efforts, irrespective of political orientation, ethnicity or religion,” he said.

“It will lead to a new dawn of restoration, rebuilding and reward.

“I want you, fellow countrymen and women, to make me your next president when the time comes, and you will see a significant difference in your lives,” Kyerematen said.

Kyerematen, who has had his eye on the presidency for the better part of two decades, tendered his resignation verbally on Thursday (5 January).

He has served as Trade Minister since President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo came to power in 2017.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button