Ghanaian News

Egyapa Mercer, Ntim Fordjour and others to be vetted today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament will continue vetting for Deputy Ministerial nominees later today, Monday, June 7, 2021.

The committee will vet four nominees as the exercise enters the second week.

The session will begin with a Deputy Minister for Energy, Andrew Egyapa Mercer, Deputy Minister-Designate for Education, Rev. John Ntim Fordjour, Deputy Minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources, George Mireku Duker, and Deputy Minister-designate for Health, Tina Mensah.

The exercise is expected to end on the 15th of June.

The Committee has since last week vetted about ten of the 40 nominees.

President Akufo-Addo submitted the list of nominees to the Speaker of Parliament on April 21, 2021.

Ten of the nominees are women.

The list also featured first-time Members of Parliament like Hassan Tampuli and John Ampontuah Kumah.

A number of Ministers also maintained their portfolios from President Akufo-Addo’s first term, including Abena Osei-Asare at the Finance Ministry, Mohammed Amin Adam, William Owuraku Aidoo at the Energy Ministry, Osei Bonsu Amoah at the Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Development, and Tina Mensah at the Health Ministry, among others.

In addition, a former deputy Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen, was also nominated as the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance and has been vetted accordingly.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button