Ghanaian News

NPP presidential race: Addai-Nimoh and Agyarko battle for fifth spot in run-off

Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko both polled nine votes in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) special electoral college on Saturday (26 August) to force a run-off next week, party officials announced.

Announcing the results at the NPP headquarters in Accra on Saturday, Dr Serebour Quaicoe, the director of electoral services of the Electoral Commission (EC), said the party must decide the fate of the two candidates.

“When we put the results together, these are the figures: Kennedy Ohene Agyapong had 132 votes, Alan Kyerematen 95 votes, Joe Ghartey had four votes, Kwadwo Poku had three votes, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto had 36 votes, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong had six votes, Francis Addai-Nimoh had nine votes, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku had 0 votes, Boakye Agyarko had nine votes, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia had 629 votes,” Dr Quaicoe said.

“So, clearly, you can see from these figures that Kennedy Agyapong, Alan Kyerematen, Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Dr Mahamudu Bawumia are among the five.

“Then when it comes to the fifth position there is a tie between Boakye Agyarko and Addai-Nimoh, meaning we have the four for you and the two have tied. So the party has to take a decision,” Quaicoe said.

The run-off is expected to be held next week Saturday.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button