Ghanaian News

Race to replace Akufo-Addo: Bawumia, Alan would need each other – Ben Ephson

The Vice president, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, could lose the primaries to lead the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in 2024, except he is supported by Alan John Kyerematen, Ben Ephson has said.

Ben Ephson, who is a senior Journalist and a pollster with written materials on analysis of elections, made this known Tuesday, February 3, 2021, on Angel FM’s ‘Anopa Bofo?’ morning show with Captain Smart.

According to him, Ashanti Region – the stronghold of the NPP – would vote against Dr. Bawumia and the NPP in the Presidential election, if he contests and wins the primaries.

Likewise, Trade and Industries Minister-nominee, suffer the same fate from people of northern descent, if he becomes the governing party’s candidate for the 2024 Presidential contest.

Options available

However, the managing editor for the Daily Dispatch newspaper advises the NPP stands a better chance of winning in 2024 if it allows either of the two men to run as Presidential candidate and the other his running mate.

“There is one possibility: Dr. Bawumia should run as President supported by Alan Kyerematen, or Kyerematen supported by Dr. Bawumia as his Vice-President.” Mr. Ephson suggested.

Another possibility that might play in Bawumia’s favour, is for the sitting president, Nana Akufo-Addo to abdicate power to Bawumia in his last year of office as President.

“President Nana Akufo-Addo should in his last year of office, resign with a sick leave and allow Bawumia to govern the country as President. Dr. Bawumia would then make Alan Kyerematen his Vice and take it from there.”

Mr. Ben Ephson’s comments came at the back of some polls he conducted that suggest that some five persons are likely to contest flagbearer position in the NPP to replace Nana Akufo-Addo ahead of 2024 elections.

These persons include current Vice president, Dr. Bawumia; Alan Kyerematen, Minister-designate for Trade and Industries; Joe Ghartey former Minister for Railways; Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, former Member for Parliament for Offinso North Constituency and Boakye Agyako, the former Minister for Energy.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button